The World Through My Lens

Week #8, Theme #8: “Wild Card” (“Reflection”)

5 Comments

Water Lily Reflection

I took this photo on a recent trip to Shark Valley (located in The Everglades National Park) in South Florida. When I loaded the picture into my computer, I was taken by the beauty of the reflection of the lily’s petals on the water; thus the title I’ve given this wild card: “Reflection”. As I studied the photo, the thought occurred to me: “Reflections reveal reality.” When we look at our reflection in a mirror, we might not necessarily like what we see….but….reflections reveal reality! Put another way, it is what it is! But don’t let that discourage you! The good news is that if we don’t like what we see, whether looking at ourselves physically, spiritually, morally, or in any other way, we can change!

On another note, I started to use the theme “Water Drop” (Theme #33) for this photo but decided against it. You see, when I took this picture, I was not aware of the water droplets which can be seen on the underside of one of the petals on the left (especially in the reflection). However, Theme #33 calls for a “water drop” (singular) so I will use that theme at a later date. Hope you enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Week #8, Theme #8: “Wild Card” (“Reflection”)

  1. Beautiful reflection. I love water lilies.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the water droplets under the pedal….I might not have noticed if you hadn’t alerted us!

    Like

  3. Great reflection. The water drops are like an added bonus!

    Like

Leave a comment